ADOPTIONS

$100.00 for the service of government intervention that this program is
offering.

RESPONSE: The Commission thanks the commenter but declines to
make any amendments because the maintenance of a self-exclusion list
is mandated by statute without cost to the participants. The regulatory
costs related to the self-exclusion list are de minimus.

Federal Standards Statement
A Federal standards analysis is not required as there are no Federal
standards or requirements applicable to the readopted rules. The Racing
Commission readopts this chapter pursuant to the rulemaking authority
set forth at N.J.S.A. 5:5-30 and 5:5-65.1.

Full text of the readopted rules can be found in the New Jersey
Administrative Code at N.J.A.C. 13:74A.

(a)
OFFICE OF HIGHWAY TRAFFIC SAFETY

Notice of Readoption
Drunk Driving Enforcement Fund

Readoption: N.J.A.C. 13:86

Authority: N.J.S.A. 27:5F-35, 39:4-50.8, 52:17B-4, and 52:17B-27;

and Reorganization Plan No. 004-1992.

Authorized By: Office of Highway Traffic Safety, Gary Poedubicky,

Acting Director.

Effective Date: July 20, 2017.
New Expiration Date: July 20, 2024.

Take notice that pursuant to N.J.S.A. 52:14B-5.1, N.J.A.C. 13:86
was scheduled to expire on September 29, 2017. The Drunk Driving
Enforcement Fund (DDEF) is established pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:4-
50.8. The rules at N.J.A.C. 13:86 establish the administration of the
DDEF and set forth the requirements for grant awards from the Fund.
The Office of Highway Traffic Safety has reviewed the rules and has
determined them to be necessary, reasonable, and proper for the purpose
for which they were originally promulgated, as required by Executive
Order No. 66 (1978).

The DDEF statute provides, that, upon conviction for violation of the
State’s drunk driving statute, N.J.S.A. 39:4-50, or for violation of the
State’s chemical breath test statute, N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.4a, the court
collects a $100.00 surcharge from the defendant and forwards it to the
New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission. Ninety-five dollars of the
$100.00 surcharge is deposited into the DDEF and the remaining $5.00
is used for administrative purposes. Additionally, two-thirds of the
monies deposited into the Alcohol Education, Rehabilitation and
Enforcement Fund in the Department of Health, N.J.S.A. 26:2B-32, for
enforcement purposes, is deposited into the DDEF in two yearly
installments. Therefore, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 27:5F-35 and in accordance
with N.J.S.A. 52:14B-5.1.c(1), these rules are readopted without
amendments and shall continue in effect for a seven-year period.

TREASURY—GENERAL
(b)

RESIDENTIAL HOUSING MANAGEMENT BOARD

Procedural Guide for Occupying and Vacating
Employee Housing Units

Readoption: N.J.A.C. 17:17

Proposed: May 15, 2017, at 49 N.J.R. 1180(a).

Adopted: July 17, 2017, by the Residential Housing Management
Board, Cindy Bussell, Secretary.

Filed: July 19, 2017, as R.2017 d.154, without change.

Authority: N.J.S.A. 52:31-25.
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Effective Date: July 19, 2017.
Expiration Date: July 19, 2024.

Summary of Public Comment and Agency Response:

The Residential Housing Management Board (Board) received timely
written comments from Jean Publiee.

COMMENT: The commenter expresses concern that there is not a
website for the public to view information about the name of the State
employees that receive residential housing, the location of the housing,
and the costs of the housing, so that the public can make an “intelligent
statement” about the continued use of taxpayer dollars for such housing.
The commenter is also concerned that the housing benefits “could be
used for corrupt purposes.” Additionally, the commenter states that “the
public should be entitled to know who is considered so vital to the State
that “they get housing at reduced prices.”

RESPONSE: The comments submitted do not relate to or address the
provisions of this current readoption, but question the underlying
employment  policies and  procedures  of  the  various
departments/agencies that provide information to the Board in order to
administer the readopted rules. The Board has no regulatory authority
over the employment policies and procedures of the various
departments/agencies. Furthermore, the Board is not required by law to
have a website for the public to view the requested information. The law
and rules establishing the Board are set forth at N.J.S.A. 52:31-23 et
seq., and N.J.A.C. 17:17. The Board thanks the commenter for the
comments.

Federal Standards Statement
No Federal standards analysis is required because the rules are not
being readopted under the authority of, or in order to implement, comply
with or participate in any program established under, Federal law or a
State law that incorporates or refers to Federal law, standards, or
requirements.

Full text of the readopted rules can be found in the New Jersey
Administrative Code at N.J.A.C. 17:17.

TREASURY—TAXATION
(c)

DIVISION OF TAXATION
Motor Fuel Tax
Readoption with Amendments: N.J.A.C. 18:18

Adopted Repeals: N.J.A.C. 18:18-3.20, 3.22, 3.23,
3.24,41,4.2,4.4,4.5,4.7,4.9,4.10,5,7.2,7.4,7.5,
7.10,9, 12.6, 12.8, 12.16 through 12.19, 14, 15.1,
15.2, and 15.10

Adopted Repeal and New Rule: N.J.A.C. 18:18-3.3

Proposed: March 6, 2017, at 49 N.J.R. 402(a).
Adopted: July 24, 2017, by John J. Ficara, Acting Director, Division
of Taxation.

Filed: July 26, 2017, as R.2017 d.158, without change.

Authority: N.J.S.A. 56:7-31.

Effective Dates: July 26, 2017, Readoption;
August 21, 2017, Amendments, New Rule, and
Repeals.

Expiration Date: July 26, 2024.

Summary of Public Comments and Agency Reponses:

The Division of Taxation (Division) received two written comments
on the notice of proposal from Eric DeGesero, of the Fuel Merchants
Association of New Jersey (FMA). The comments are summarized as
follows:

COMMENT: The FMA asked whether the Director could exercise
the authority granted under N.J.S.A. 54:39-148(h) (which authorizes the
Director to co-collect the motor fuel tax and the petroleum products
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gross receipts tax) to allow a distributor who is (a) not a qualified
distributor (that is, they pay the New Jersey motor fuel tax to their
supplier directly upon loading the product); and (b) who pays the
petroleum products gross receipts tax to their supplier (that is, they do
not have a Direct Pay Permit) to no longer have to file a New Jersey
Motor Fuel Tax return just as they are no longer filing a Petroleum
Products Gross Receipts Tax return if they relinquished their Petroleum
Products Gross Receipts Tax Direct Pay Permit. The FMA states that
this is how the Federal excise tax system works and prior to the 2010
amendments, wholesale dealers licensed under the old motor fuels law
did not have to file a return since they had no tax liability but gasoline
jobbers who did have a tax liability had to file a return. In addition, FMA
states that this is directly analogous to the distinction between a qualified
distributor (no tax liability) and nonqualified distributor (tax liability to
supplier in exchange for the float). Lastly, FMA believes that this
proposed change will dramatically reduce needless paperwork for both
small businesses and the Division. For those distributors who are
qualified distributors, FMA does not believe any change to the existing
collection and reporting requirements for either the New Jersey motor
fuel tax or petroleum products gross receipts tax should be made.

RESPONSE: The Division disagrees that the qualified/nonqualified
distributor distinction is sufficient to not require the filing of a New
Jersey Motor Fuel Tax return because a nonqualified distributor may still
need to file for a refund and a wholesale dealer is not directly analogous
to a nonqualified distributor.

The election to be treated as a qualified distributor is set forth under
N.J.S.A. 54:39-121. A qualified and nonqualified distributor have the
same filing requirements as there is no real difference between a
qualified distributor and a nonqualified distributor, except for the ability
to defer the payment of tax to their supplier. Under the law prior to 2010,
gasoline jobbers could buy tax free and remit the tax when they filed
their return and wholesalers could only purchase tax included and did
not have to file a return. If a distributor (qualified or nonqualified) needs
to get a refund on tax exempt sales they would file their distributor
return and get the refund by filing the return. Thus, there is no
correlation between jobber/wholesaler and qualified distributor/
nonqualified distributor because in the jobber/wholesaler context the
wholesaler buys tax included and the gasoline jobber buys tax free and
in the qualified/nonqualified distributor context the qualified distributor
can defer the payment of tax to their supplier but the nonqualified
distributor cannot.

The Division frames the issue as to whether the Division can devise a
method to treat some distributors like wholesalers under the law prior to
2010 and exempt those distributors from filing a tax return. The Division
cannot determine which nonqualified distributors will never file for a
refund because the distinction between a qualified distributor (no tax
liability) and nonqualified distributor (tax liability to supplier in
exchange for the float) is not directly analogous to gasoline jobbers
(could buy tax free and remit the tax when they filed their return) and
wholesalers (could only purchase tax included and did not have to file a
return) under the law prior to 2010.

COMMENT: FMA believes that the rule should be amended to
recognize recently enacted P.L. 2016, c. 66, which allows distributors
the ability to receive a credit against tax otherwise due under the New
Jersey motor fuel tax for the portion of a bad debt written off that is the
New Jersey motor fuel tax.

RESPONSE: The Division disagrees with this suggestion because the
language in the statute set forth in N.J.S.A. 54:39-137(a) is sufficient to
administer the refund process because the definition of a bad debt
follows the Federal definition under IRC § 166.

Federal Standards Statement

Executive Order No. 27 (1994) and N.J.S.A. 52:14B-1 et seq. (P.L.
1995, c. 65), require State agencies that adopt, readopt, or amend State
rules that exceed any Federal standards or requirements to include in the
rulemaking document a comparison with Federal law.

The rules readopted with amendments, repeals, and a new rule are not
subject to a Federal standards analysis under Executive Order No. 27
(1994) because the rules readopted with amendments, repeals, and a new
rule do not contain any requirement that exceeds those imposed by
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Federal law. The rules readopted with amendments, repeals, and a new
rule will further align New Jersey’s rules with Federal requirements
under 49 U.S.C. § 14506, Identification of vehicles. N.J.A.C. 18:18-8.4,
Registration of conveyances; license plates, and 12.3, Failure to register
conveyance; penalty imposed, have been amended to delete a reference
to State-issued license plates because those requirements exceed the
requirement imposed under 49 U.S.C. § 14506.

Full text of the readopted rules can be found in the New Jersey
Administrative Code at N.J.A.C. 18:18.

Full text of the adopted amendments and new rule follows:

CHAPTER 18
MOTOR FUEL TAX

SUBCHAPTER 1.

18:18-1.1 Words and phrases defined

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have
the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Blender” means and includes any person that produces blended fuel
outside the terminal transfer system. As used in this definition the term
“terminal transfer system” means and consists of refineries, pipelines,
vessels, and qualified terminals. Motor fuel in any supply tank or any
tank car, tanker, or other equipment suitable for ground transportation is
not considered to be within the terminal transfer system. A person that
engages in “splash blending” is not considered to be a blender within the
meaning of this rule.

Example: (No change.)

“Common carrier” means any person engaged in or employed in the
business of carrying fuel for others for hire. (Historical Note: Formerly
Reg. M.F.-10 filed 4/30/57.)

DEFINITIONS

“Distributor” means and includes every person who acquires motor
fuel from a supplier, permissive supplier, or from another distributor for
subsequent sale.

“Export” means the sending or carrying by any person of fuel out of
New Jersey to another state or foreign country in the way of commerce.
(Historical Note: Formerly Reg. M.F.-2 filed 4/30/57.)

“Fuel” means:

1.-2. (No change.)

3. The term includes, without limitation:

i. (No change.)

ii. Any liquid prepared, advertised, offered for sale, or sold for use as
or commonly and commercially used as a fuel in internal combustion
engines, which when subjected to distillation in accordance with the
latest revised standard method of test for distillation of gasoline,
naphthas, kerosene, and similar petroleum products (American Society
for Testing Materials Method D-86) shows not less than 10 percent
distilled (recovered) below 347° Fahrenheit and not less than 95 percent
distilled (recovered) below 464° Fahrenheit; and

iii.-iv. (No change.)

4. Provided, however, that any person dealing therein, shall at any
time, and from time to time, upon written request of the Director, report
his or her receipts, sales, use, and distribution of said combustible gases
and other products in a manner prescribed by the Director.

“Persons” means and includes natural persons and partnerships, firms,
associations, joint stock companies, syndicates and corporations, and
any receiver, trustee, conservator, or other officer appointed pursuant to
law or by any court, state or Federal; also counties, municipalities, and
other political subdivisions of this State, singular or plural, and the State
of New Jersey. The use of the singular number shall include the plural
number.

“Sale” means, in addition to its ordinary meaning, any exchange, gift,
theft or other disposition. In every case where fuel are exchanged, given,
stolen or otherwise disposed of, they shall be deemed to have been sold.
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SUBCHAPTER 2. LICENSING

18:18-2.1 General powers

(a) (No change.)

(b) The Director is authorized to conduct joint audits, subject to
specific agreements with any agency of the United States of America,
with another state, or through national or regional tax associations, of the
obligations of any supplier, distributor, retail dealer, terminal operator,
transporter arising out of the Motor Fuel Tax Act. Notwithstanding the
provisions of N.J.S.A. 54:50-8 to the contrary, such agreements may
provide for the exchange of the records and files of the Director
respecting the administration of the Motor Fuel Tax Act or of any other
state tax law.

(c) The Director is authorized to arrange for the institution of
programs of cooperation with other departments, divisions, and agencies
of the State of New Jersey, such as but not limited to Weights and
Measures, and the Motor Vehicle Commission, where a program may be
necessary to ensure effective and efficient administration and
enforcement of the Motor Fuel Tax Act.

18:18-2.3  Issuance of licenses

The Director, upon application, issues all licenses including, but not
limited to, licenses that are required to be obtained pursuant to these
rules, and may refuse to issue or renew the license of any person who is
in violation of N.J.S.A. 54:39-101 et seq., and 56:6-1 et seq., or upon
sufficient cause being shown.

18:18-2.4 Request for hearing upon refusal to grant license

(a) Any person who makes application for a license or the renewal
thereof may:

1. Within five days after refusal by the Director make a written
request for a hearing; and

2. (No change.)

18:18-2.5 Revocation and cancellation of license

(a) The license held by any supplier, distributor, terminal operator,
transporter, or retail dealer may be suspended or revoked by the Director
for a violation of any of the provisions of these rules, or on other
reasonable grounds, after five days notice of and hearing on such
proposed revocation or suspension conducted pursuant to the
Administrative Procedure Act, N.J.S.A. 52:14B-1 et seq.

(b) Upon receipt of a written request from the holder of any license,
the Director has the power to cancel such license effective as soon
thereafter as it has been determined that all tax, fines, penalties, and
interest properly owing to the State have been paid.

(c) If the Director finds that any person to whom a license has been
issued is no longer engaged in the business for which the license was
issued, the Director has the power to cancel such license by giving such
person reasonable notice of such intent to cancel by mail to his or her
last known address.

(d) (No change.)

18:18-2.6  Hearings

(a) The Director may personally or by delegate conduct informal or
formal hearings, administer oaths, and examine any person engaged in
the business of dealing in fuels as a supplier, distributor, retail dealer,
terminal operator, transporter, or otherwise, and the directors, officers,
agents, and employees of such person, and all other witnesses, relative to
the motor fuel business of such person, in respect to any matter incident
to the administration of the Act.

(b) (No change.)

18:18-2.7  Subpoenas for witnesses; records

The Director may by subpoena compel the attendance of witnesses
and the production of any books, records, papers, accounts of any person
who sells, uses or distributes motor fuel, either directly or indirectly, or
of any person, at a hearing.

18:18-2.8  Disobedience of subpoena

If any person subpoenaed to attend any hearing fails to appear, to be
examined or to answer any question, or to produce any books or papers
when ordered to do so by the Director or his or her assistants designated
by him to conduct such hearing, the Director or such assistant or other
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official properly designated by law to do so may apply to the Superior
Court for an order to compel him to do so.

18:18-2.10 Nature of hearings

(a) (No change.)

(b) At a formal hearing:

1. All evidence is taken before a court reporter and the parties are not
bound by common law or statutory rules of evidence;

2. All testimony having reasonable probative value is admitted, but
immaterial, irrelevant, or unduly cumulative testimony may be excluded,

3. Every party has the right to present his or her case or defense by
oral or documentary evidence, to submit rebuttal evidence, and to
conduct such cross-examination as may be required for a full, true
disclosure of the facts;

4. (No change.)

5. Upon reaching a determination, the Division of Taxation shall
notify a taxpayer or other party of interest or his or her representative by
mail of the determination made.

(¢) (No change.)
SUBCHAPTER 3. SUPPLIER’S LICENSE; BONDS REQUIRED;
RECORDS

18:18-3.1  Supplier’s license; application

(a) Every supplier before continuing in or commencing to transact the
business of a supplier, must obtain a license from the Director,
permitting him or her to engage in said business within this State.

(b) Such application shall be accompanied by payment of a license
fee of $450.00 for a three-year period or part thereof and the filing of a
bond in such form as the Director shall require.

(c) Any application for such license is to be made in the form and
manner as the Director shall prescribe.

18:18-3.2 Refusal in certain cases

In the event that any application for a license is filed by any person
whose license has at any time been revoked, or if it is determined that
such application is filed by some person as a subterfuge for the real
person in interest whose license has been revoked, the Director, after a
hearing held pursuant to N.J.A.C. 18:18-2.6(b) may refuse such person a
license.

18:18-3.3  Distributor’s license

(a) Every distributor must obtain a license from the Director
permitting him or her to engage in said business within this State, before
continuing in or commencing to transact the business of a distributor.

(b) Such application shall be accompanied by payment of a license
fee of $450.00 for a three-year period or part thereof and the filing of a
bond in such form as the Director shall require.

(c) An application for a license shall be made in the form and manner
as the Director shall prescribe.

18:18-3.4  Qualifications for license

Any person applying for a Supplier’s, Distributor’s, Terminal
Operator’s or Retail Dealer’s license must meet the qualifications for
such license. See N.J.A.C. 18:18-2.3 concerning issuance of licenses.

18:18-3.5 Bond requirements

Before granting a license authorizing any person to engage in
business as a supplier, distributor, or as a terminal operator, the Director
shall require such person to file a bond, duly executed by such person as
principal, and by a corporation, approved by the Director and authorized
to engage in business as a surety by the Commissioner of Insurance of
this State, as surety; payable to the State of New Jersey, conditioned
upon the faithful performance of all the requirements of these rules and
expressly providing for the payment of all taxes, penalties, and other
obligations of such person arising out of the Act.

18:18-3.6  Amount of bond required

(a) The total amount of the bond or bonds required to be filed is fixed
by the Director and may be increased or reduced at any time subject to
the limitations provided.

(b) In fixing the total amount of the bond or bonds required to be filed
by any supplier, distributor, or terminal operator, the Director may
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require a bond or bonds equivalent to an amount no greater than three
times the tax on the greatest amount of motor fuel handled during a
monthly period of the previous 12-month period in such manner as he or
she may deem proper. The Director shall take into account the
applicant’s prior record as a New Jersey taxpayer and all other
information as may be available to him or her which would establish the
applicant’s financial responsibility.

1. Where the application is made by any person who has never
engaged in business in this State as a supplier, distributor, or terminal
operator, prior to the filing of such application, the Director, after
investigation, shall fix the total amount of such bond or bonds from such
information as he or she may obtain after such investigation;

2. The total amount of any bond or bonds required to be filed by any
supplier can never be less than $25,000 or more than $2,000,000. The
total amount of the bond or bonds required for a qualified distributor can
never be less than $25,000 nor more than $1,000,000. The total amount
of the bond or bonds required to be filed by any nonqualified distributor
shall never be more than $2,000,000. The total amount of any bond or
bonds required to be filed by any terminal operator can never be less
than $25,000 nor more than $2,000,000.

3. (No change.)

18:18-3.7 Bond duration

(a) Every bond filed with and approved by the Director shall, without
the necessity of periodic renewal, remain in force and effect until such
time as the Supplier License, Distributor’s License, or Terminal
Operator’s License of which it is a part, is revoked for cause or
otherwise cancelled or has expired.

1. No action on a bond shall start after two years from the date of
revocation or cancellation of the license of which it is a part.

(b) Release and substitution of surety.

1.-2. (No change.)

3. Upon receipt of any such request, the Director shall notify the
principal who furnished the bond;

4. Unless the principal shall, on or before the expiration of the 60-day
period, file a new bond, the Director shall cancel the principal’s license;
and

5. Sixty days after the licensee makes a written request for release to
the Director, the cash deposit, letter of credit, or certificate of deposit
provided by a licensee shall be cancelled as security for any obligation
accruing after the expiration of the 60-day period. However, the Director
may retain all or part of the bond for up to three years and one day as
security for any obligations accruing before the effective date of the
cancellation. The Director shall release any part not retained to the
licensee. Before the expiration of the 60-day period, the licensee shall
provide the Director with a bond that satisfies the requirements of
N.J.S.A. 54:39-129.¢g or the Director shall cancel the license.

18:18-3.8  Deposit in lieu of bond

In lieu of any bond or bonds required under N.J.A.C. 18:18-3.5
through 3.7, a supplier, distributor, or terminal operator may deposit
with the State Treasurer, under such terms and conditions as the Director
may prescribe, a like amount of lawful money of the United States, or
bonds, or other obligations of the United States, or the State of New
Jersey, of an actual market value not less than the amount fixed by the
Director.

18:18-3.9 License issued when bond approved

Upon the acceptance and approval of the application and bond, the
Director shall issue a license permitting the conduct of business as a
supplier, distributor, or terminal operator in this State, subject to
cancellation as provided by law.

18:18-3.10 License not assignable

Any license so issued by the Director is not assignable, and is valid
only for the supplier, distributor, or terminal operator in whose name the
license is issued.

18:18-3.11 Violations for acting as a supplier, distributor, or terminal
operator without a license
Any person conducting business in this State as a supplier, distributor,
terminal operator, or retail dealer without first obtaining a license from
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the Director, is deemed guilty of a crime of the fourth degree and subject
to the penalties provided by law.

18:18-3.12 Records

Every supplier, distributor, terminal operator, and retail dealer is
required to keep a record for a four-year period of all fuel sold or used,
including the name of the purchaser, the number of gallons used or sold,
and the date of the sale or use.

18:18-3.13 Statements with consignment

(a) Every supplier, distributor, and terminal operator must also deliver
with every consignment of such fuel to a purchaser within this State, a
written statement containing the date and number of gallons delivered,
the kind and grade of fuel involved, and the names of the purchaser and
seller, showing a separate charge for the tax on every gallon.

1. Such a statement is not required where sales of fuel are made at a
service station and such fuel are delivered directly into the tank of a
vehicle from which such fuel are directly supplied for the propulsion of
such vehicle.

2. Such records and written statements are to be preserved by the
supplier, distributor, terminal operator, and purchaser respectively for a
period of four years and are to be offered for inspection upon the verbal
or written demand of the Director or any of his or her duly authorized
assistants.

18:18-3.14 Physical inventory required

Every supplier, distributor, terminal operator, and retail dealer is to
take a physical inventory of the fuel on hand on the first or last day of
every calendar month and is to keep records of such inventory for a four-
year period and all other information required in these rules available at
all times for the inspection of the Director or his or her assistants.

18:18-3.15 Furnishing of statement

Whenever demanded by the Director or his or her assistants every
supplier, distributor, terminal operator, and retail dealer is required to
furnish a statement, under oath, reflecting the contents of any records
required to be kept under these rules.

18:18-3.16 Consignment taxable disposal

Consignment transactions of fuel to be sold on a commission basis
and any fuel delivered to a company-operated service station is a taxable
disposal “and is not to be included in inventory”.

18:18-3.17 Segregated gasoline not in inventory

Gasoline which is segregated for the exclusive use of a supplier,
distributor, terminal operator, or retail dealer is not to be included in the
physical inventory on hand at the beginning or end of the month, but is
to be dealt with as sales for company use at time of delivery to storage.

18:18-3.18 Disposals and receipts

(a) All deliveries of motor fuel including those made on a
consignment and/or a commission basis, and deliveries to retail
marketing storage operated by a licensee are to be treated as sales at the
time such deliveries are made.

1.-2. (No change.)

(b) Any motor fuel held in common storage with another person or
persons:

1. (No change.)

2. Such fuel, when subsequently delivered by such an association,
properly licensed, are deemed to be purchased at the time all such fuel
are received.

(c) Any motor fuel received exclusively by a licensee, including
motor fuel purchased on consignment, is to be treated as purchased at
the time such fuel are received.

18:18-3.19 Terms of licenses

(a) Every license and permit required by the Act, except a
transporter’s license is issued for a three-year period, or unexpired
portion thereof, commencing on April 1 and ending the third succeeding
March 31 and is void thereafter.

1. (No change.)

2. Every transporter’s license, once issued, remains in force until
March 31 of the year following issuance and shall be void thereafter
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unless renewed. A license, once issued, shall remain in force during the
period of issuance unless suspended or revoked for cause or otherwise
cancelled.

18:18-3.20 Records on transactions and invoices

(a) (No change.)

(b) All licensed motor fuel dealers in this State, on all sales of motor
fuel except deliveries into the service tank of a vehicle, must give each
purchaser an invoice.

1. All invoices provided to purchasers by licensed dealers shall
include the following:

i. -ii. (No change.)

iii. Number of gallons sold; and

iv. (No change.)

2.-3. (No change.)

SUBCHAPTER 4. RETAIL DEALERS AND TRANSPORT
LICENSES

18:18-4.1 Restrictions on retail sales

(a) (No change.)

(b) Sales may be made directly into the fuel tanks of motor boats only
from a fixed location properly covered by a Retail Dealer’s License in
the name of the seller.

1. This fixed location may be equipped either with permanent or
temporary installations for the dispensing of fuel directly into the fuel
tank of boats;

2. A tank truck cannot under any circumstances be licensed as a fixed
place of business.

18:18-4.2  Retail dealer records required

(a) Every retail dealer purchasing fuel, taxable under the Act, is
required to maintain and keep for a period of four years, a record of fuel
received and sold which shall include pump meter readings, the amount
of tax paid by the supplier, distributor, or terminal operator as part of the
purchase price, together with delivery tickets, totalizer readings,
invoices, bills of lading, monthly physical inventories, and such other
records as the Director may require.

(b) Daily record; preserving.

1. Every retail dealer is required to keep a daily record which shall
include pump meter readings showing the total amount of fuel sold on
each business day;

2. Such records are to be preserved for a period of four years and to
be open for inspection by the Director or any of his or her assistants at
all times. (See N.J.A.C. 18:19-4.1 for additional required records.)

18:18-4.3  Invoice on sales

(a) On all sales of motor fuel (except as noted in (b) below) except
deliveries into the service tank of a vehicle, every licensed motor fuel
dealer in this State is required to give the purchaser an invoice showing:

1.-4. (No change.)

(b) (No change.)

SUBCHAPTER 5. (RESERVED)

SUBCHAPTER 6. CORPORATIONS

18:18-6.1  Persons subject to the Act

The terms “supplier,” “distributor,” “terminal operator,” “retail
dealer,” “transporter,” and “person,” as used in these rules, include an
officer, director, stockholder, or employee of a corporation, or a member
of a partnership, who as such officer, director, stockholder, employee, or
member is under the duty to perform the act in respect to which the
violation occurs.

LEIT3 EERTS

18:18-6.3  Previous violations preclude corporation from getting
license
(a) No corporation will be entitled to hold a license as a supplier,
distributor, terminal operator, transporter, or retail dealer, when it
appears that:
1. Any officer, director, or employee of such corporation has
heretofore been convicted of violating any of these rules; or
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2. (No change.)

SUBCHAPTER 7.
18:18-7.1

IMPOSITION OF TAX AND TAX REPORTING

Suppliers, permissive suppliers, exporters, blenders,
distributors, liquefied petroleum gas dealers, and aviation
fuel dealers monthly tax reporting and payments; penalties

(a) Every supplier, permissive supplier, exporter, blender, and
distributor must, on or before the 22nd day of each month, file a report
with the Director, on forms prescribed, prepared, and furnished by the
Director, stating the number of gallons of fuel sold or used in this State
by him or her during the preceding calendar month.

1. A tax at the current rate per gallon on each gallon reported must be
paid by each distributor, or any other importer and payment is to
accompany the monthly report.

2. The report must contain such further information as the Director
may require.

(b) If any supplier, permissive supplier, exporter, blender, or
distributor fails, neglects, or refuses to file the report within the time
prescribed by this rule, the Director:

1. Will note such failure, neglect, or refusal upon his or her records;
and

2. Will estimate the sales, distribution, and use of said distributors,
assessing the tax thereon, adding to said tax a penalty of 20 percent for
the failure, neglect, or refusal to report; and

3. Such estimate is prima facie evidence of the true amount of tax due
from such distributor.

(c) (No change.)

18:18-7.2  Electronic filing of motor fuel taxes

Any other provision of law to the contrary notwithstanding, suppliers,
distributors, and terminal operators licensed under the Motor Fuel Tax
Act must use electronic methods for filing tax returns under the motor
fuel tax law. As the result of changes in technology, the Director shall
determine and publish instructions regarding which electronic methods
of filing returns and paying such tax satisfy the requirements imposed by
this section.

18:18-7.3  Tax reports using fractions of a gallon for all taxpayers

(a) Taxpayers, when reporting transactions involving gallons of fuel,
are required to increase to one gallon all fractions of 1/2 or more and to
drop from accountability all fractions less than 1/2 gallon;

(b) (No change.)

18:18-7.4 Reporting gallons based on invoices for all taxpayers

Gallons listed in any line and schedule of the tax report must include
only the number of gallons actually shown on the seller’s invoices or
memo billings on receipts and on the invoices or memo billings for
disposals.

18:18-7.5 Losses listed on tax reports by licensed suppliers,
distributors, and terminal operators
(a)-(b) (No change.)

18:18-7.6  Invoices delivered with sales; information required

(a) All licensed suppliers, distributors, and terminal operators in this
State, on all sales of gasoline except deliveries into the service tank of a
vehicle, must give each purchaser an invoice showing:

1.-2. (No change.)

3. Number of gallons sold; and

4. (No change.)

(b) (No change.)

18:18-7.7  Audit

(a) The records of all licensees and registered consumers must be
made available for audit upon request in this State.

(b) The examination of returns and the assessment of additional taxes,
penalties, and interest shall be as provided by the State Tax Uniform
Procedure Law, N.J.S.A. 54:48-1 et seq.

(c)-(d) (No change.)

(CITE 49 N.J.R. 2809)
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SUBCHAPTER 8. FUEL CARRIERS

18:18-8.1  Reports by fuel carriers

Every railway or railroad company, water transportation company,
and person transporting fuel as herein defined, in bulk, between points
within the State, and every water transportation company and person
transporting fuel in bulk to a point outside the State from any point
within the State, or to a point within the State from a point outside of the
State, must at any time, upon written request of the Director, report, in a
manner prescribed by the Director, all deliveries of fuel so made to
points within or without the State.

18:18-8.2  Monthly report; contents

(a) Monthly reports by carriers of fuel must cover monthly periods
and must be submitted within 30 days after the close of the month
covered by the reports.

(b) The monthly report must show:

1. All the quantities of fuel delivered at points in the State or outside
of the State during the month;

2.-10. (No change.)

11. The name of account requesting pick up; and

12. (No change.)

(c) (No change.)

18:18-8.3  Inspection of transporter’s records

The Director or his or her authorized agents have the right at any time
during the normal business hours to inspect the books of any transporter
to determine if the requirements of these rules are being properly
observed.

18:18-8.4 Registration of conveyances

(a) (No change.).

(b) Upon receipt of any application, the Director issues a license
certificate for each conveyance which shows the license number
assigned and which must be displayed in the conveyance at all times in
such manner as the Director may regulate.

(c) A license fee of $50.00 must be paid for the licensing of each
conveyance.

(d)-(e) (No change.)

18:18-8.5  Delivery tickets required; Director or police may inspect

(a) The driver of any conveyance must have and possess at all times
while hauling, distributing or transporting fuel a delivery ticket or other
form approved by the Director, which shows the true names of the seller
and purchaser and such other information as the Director may prescribe.

1. Any agent of the Director or police officer may stop any
conveyance in order to determine whether or not the provisions of this
rule are being observed.

(b) A delivery ticket may take the form of a loading ticket, duplicate
loading ticket invoice, or any other special form, provided it contains on
its face either written, or as an integral part of the printed makeup of the
form, or as part of a rubber stamp notation stamped on the form, or
otherwise the following:

1.-4. (No change.)

5. A statement of the assumption of tax if a New Jersey licensed
distributor gives the name and distributor’s license number. If not,
besides the name of the company, gives the name and address of the
responsible individual who is assuming the responsibility for accounting
that the tax has been or will be paid,

6. (No change.)

7. Serial number of the delivery ticket; and

8. (No change.)

(c) Whenever any agent of the Director, or police officer stops any
conveyance in order to determine whether or not the operator has a
delivery ticket in his or her possession, the number of gallons shown on
the delivery ticket must correspond with the gallons actually in the
conveyance.

1. If these gallonages are not the same, the operator must have in his
or her possession sales tickets or other evidence for the portion of the
load already delivered.

2. (No change.)

(CITE 49 N.J.R. 2810)
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3. Delivery tickets on loads partly returned to any plant should be
surrendered by the driver of the truck to the person responsible for its
loading, who should note thereon for his or her own record and future
reference for the Division of Taxation, the number of gallons returned.

18:18-8.7 Vessel and vehicle carrier

(a) The master or other person in charge of any barge, tanker, or other
vessel in which fuel is being transported, or of a tank truck, truck tractor,
semitrailer, trailer, or other vehicle used in transporting fuel, other than
fuel being transported for use in operating the engine which propels the
vessel or vehicle, or for the purpose of generating power in stationary
engines to operate pumps for discharge of liquid cargo, must have in his
or her possession an invoice, bill of sale, or other evidence showing:

1.-3. (No change.)

(b) He or she must at the request of any agent of the Director, produce
such invoice, bill of sale, or other record evidence for inspection.

1. Whenever the fuel is being transported into or between points in
New Jersey, such invoice, bill of sale, or other record evidence must also
contain a statement showing who has assumed or who will assume
payment of the New Jersey State Tax;

i. Where a New Jersey licensed supplier, distributor, or terminal
operator is assuming it, the name and address and license number of that
person will be sufficient;

ii. (No change.)

2. Whenever the fuel is being transported to a point outside of New
Jersey, there must be included on the invoice, bill of sale, or other record
evidence, a statement that the New Jersey seller or consignor is
exporting the fuel.

(¢) (No change.)

18:18-8.8  Reports by water carriers

(a) Every water transportation company, for all shipments transported
by them as a Common Carrier (one engaged in or employed in the
business of carrying fuel for others for hire) into, out of or between
points in New Jersey shall, when requested in writing by the Director,
make a report to the Division of Taxation of all such shipments on Form
TMF-10 Transporter of Motor Fuel Packet.

(b)-(c) (No change.)

18:18-8.9  Water carrier’s requirements

(a) A water carrier’s requirements shall include the following:

1. Calibration charts.

i. (No change in text.)

ii. These calibration charts must have been prepared by a recognized
firm of gaugers and show tank number, capacity, dimensions and gallons
corresponding to measurements in feet, inches, and fractions thereof for
any amount of fuels in the tanks;

2. Plan.

i. (No change in text.)

ii. Such plan must show tank number, capacity and dimensions of
each tank; and

3. Gauge stick.

i. All water carriers must have on board, a gauge stick properly
divided in feet, inches, and fractions thereof to correspond with the
measurements of each tank and calibration chart.

ii. (No change in text.)

(b) Registration. Every person operating a water carrier transporting
or delivering motor fuel must apply with the Division of Taxation for its
registration and shall possess the license card.

18:18-8.10 Suspension of license

The license cards issued for the operation over the public highways or
waterways of this State of any conveyance used for the transporting or
hauling of fuel may be suspended or revoked upon reasonable grounds
by the Director in the same manner as other licenses may be suspended
or revoked by the Director under these rules.
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SUBCHAPTER 9. (RESERVED)
SUBCHAPTER 10. TAX PAID IN ERROR-REFUND AND
APPEALS

18:18-10.1  Refunds paid out of escrow

(a) When the Director determines that any moneys received under
these rules were paid in error he or she shall cause the same to be
refunded, but shall refuse to authorize a refund if more than four years
have elapsed from the time the erroneous payment was made.

(b) (No change.)

SUBCHAPTER 11. COLLECTION OF TAXES

18:18-11.2  Debt docketed; licensee deemed to accept procedure;
appeal

(a) Certificate of indebtedness; effect.

1. As an additional or alternative remedy, the Director may issue a
certificate to the clerk of the Superior Court or to any county clerk that
any person is indebted under these rules in an amount named in such
certificate. Thereupon the clerk to whom such certificate has been issued
will immediately enter upon his or her record of docketed judgments:

i.-ii. (No change.)

2.-3. (No change.)

(b) Every person who is licensed under these rules, and every refund
claimant who has applied for and received benefits under N.J.A.C.
18:18-15.1 shall, by the acceptance of such license and benefits, be
deemed to have consented to the procedure set forth in this chapter.

(c) (No change.)

(d) Every person required to collect any tax imposed by these rules
shall be personally liable for the tax imposed, collected or required to be
paid, collected, or remitted under these rules and be the subject of a
certificate issued under this section.

18:18-11.3  Release of liens; payment or deposit

(a) The Director, upon application made to him or her and upon the
payment of a fee of $25.00, may release any property from the lien of
any judgment or levy procured by him or her, provided:

1. Payment is made to the Director of such sum as he or she deems
adequate consideration for such release; or

2. A deposit is made with the Director of such bond or other security
as he or she deems adequate to secure the payment of any judgment, the
lien of which is sought to be released.

SUBCHAPTER 12. OFFENSES, FINES, AND PENALTIES

18:18-12.1  Failure to procure licenses; penalty

Every person who engages in business as a supplier, distributor,
terminal operator, transporter or retail dealer without first obtaining a
license from the Director and every person who engages in business as a
retail dealer without first applying to the Director for a license, as
required by these rules, or continues in business as a retailer after the end
of the 14th day following the date of such application without having
obtained the license and displayed it at the establishment being operated,
will be subject to a civil penalty of $1,000.

18:18-12.2  Failure to keep records or permit inspection

(a) Any person who fails to furnish an invoice, keep the records
required to be kept by virtue of N.J.S.A. 54:39-135 and 54:39-139, or
who refuses or fails to permit inspection of such records by the Director
or any of his or her agents will be subject to a civil penalty of $1,000.

(b) For failure to pay the penalty after conviction, he or she may be
imprisoned for a period of not less than five nor more than 30 days.

(c) Any person who shall refuse to permit any inspection or audit
shall be subject to a civil penalty of $5,000 in addition to any penalty
imposed by any other provision.

18:18-12.3  Failure to register conveyance; penalty imposed

(a) Any person engaged in the business of hauling, transporting, or
delivering fuel who causes to be operated any conveyance without
having a license certificate displayed thereon as provided by N.J.S.A.
54:39-107 will be subject to a civil penalty of $1,000.
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(b) For failure to pay such penalty after conviction he or she may be
imprisoned for a period of not less than five nor more than 30 days.

18:18-12.4  Failure to have shipping papers or delivery tickets; penalty
imposed

(a) The driver of any conveyance used for the transportation or
hauling of fuel who fails to have and possess at all times while hauling
or transporting fuel a delivery ticket containing the information provided
for by N.J.S.A. 54:39-107 and 54:39-139 will be subject:

1. For the first offense to a penalty of $500.00; and

2. For the second offense and thereafter, to a penalty of $5,000.

(b) For failure to pay such penalty after conviction, he or she may be
imprisoned for a period of not less than five nor more than 30 days.

18:18-12.6  (Reserved)
18:18-12.8  (Reserved)

18:18-12.10 False refund claims; failure to keep records on refund
claims

(a) Any person who:

1. (No change.)

2. Collects or causes to be repaid to him or her or to any other person
any such reimbursement or refund without being entitled to the same
shall be guilty of a crime. (See N.J.A.C. 18:18-15.4).

(b) Failure of a refund claimant to maintain and preserve required
records, furnish proof requested, or to comply with the demand for
examination by the Director, or any of his or her representatives shall
constitute a waiver of all rights to the claim or claims questioned and
such subsequent claims as the Director may determine. See N.J.A.C.
18:18-15.5.

18:18-12.11 Obtaining tax-free fuel illegally from U.S. Government,
State of New Jersey, any political subdivision of the State,
or department or agency of either for disposal

It is unlawful for any person to use or conspire with any government

official, agent, or employee for the use of any requisition, purchase

order, or any card or any authority to which he or she is not specifically

entitled by government regulations for the purpose of obtaining any such

fuel, upon which the tax has not been paid.

SUBCHAPTER 13. PROCEDURE FOR COLLECTION OF FINES
AND PENALTIES

18:18-13.2  Suit by Director; jurisdiction; process

(a) The Director shall initiate legal proceedings in order to collect any
penalty or fine imposed due to the violation of any provision of these
rules as noted in N.J.A.C. 18:18-13.1.

(b) (No change.)

(c) The proceedings will be summary and in accordance with the
Penalty Enforcement Law (N.J.S.A. 2A:58-1 et seq.) and process shall
be either in the nature of a summons or a warrant.

18:18-13.3  Judgment; commitment for nonpayment

If judgment is rendered for the plaintiff the court will cause any
defendant who may refuse or fail to pay the amount or the judgment
rendered against him or her and all costs and charges incident thereto, to
be committed to the county jail for any period not exceeding the period
mentioned in these rules.

SUBCHAPTER 14. (RESERVED)

SUBCHAPTER 15. REFUNDS

18:18-15.1  (Reserved)
18:18-15.2  (Reserved)
18:18-15.3  Invoices required with claims; Director may permit

otherwise
(a) Refund claims shall have attached to them, in support thereof, the
original invoices of all the claimant’s purchases of fuel made from every
source during the month for which the refund claim is being submitted.

(CITE 49 N.J.R. 2811)
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(b) Invoices secured at the time of purchase of fuel for taxable
purposes, such as for use in automobiles, trucks, etc., must be included
as well as those secured at the time of purchase of fuel for refundable
purposes.

(c) (No change.)

18:18-15.4  Payment of refunds; time limit; false statements and/or
fraudulent payments; crimes

(a) (No change.)

(b) The application for reimbursements and repayments must be filed
with the Director on or before the last business day of the sixth month
following that in which the fuel in question were purchased.

(c) Any person or member of any firm or the officer or agent of any
corporation who makes any false statement in any application required
for the reimbursement and repayment of any taxes, or who collects or
causes to be repaid to him or her or to any other person any such
reimbursement or refund without being entitled to the same shall be
guilty of a crime. See N.J.A.C. 18:18-12.10.

18:18-15.5  Records establishing claims

(a) Every refund claimant must keep a monthly written record of all
purchases, showing:

1.-2. (No change.)

3. The number of gallons of each purchase; and

4. The kind of material and the manner in which the fuel are used.

(b)-(c) (No change.)

(d) Failure of the claimant to maintain and preserve such records,
furnish such additional proof or to comply with the demand for such
examination by the Director, or any of his or her representatives,
constitutes a waiver of all rights to the claim or claims questioned and
such subsequent claims as the Director may determine.

18:18-15.8  Rural free delivery carriers

(a) N.J.S.A. 54:39-112.a(6) states that fuel used by Rural Free
Delivery Carriers in the dispatch of their business is subject to refund.

(b)-(c) (No change.)

(d) The qualified substitute rural carrier operating during the vacation,
sick leave, or days off, of the rural carriers, must apply for his or her
own refund, covering his or her particular activities.

(e) Refund claims submitted by Rural Free Delivery Carriers must,
hereafter, have attached to them, in support of their claims, the receipted
invoices covering all purchases of fuel made by the carrier, irrespective
of whether the fuel is used in the vehicle operating over the rural route or
in any other vehicle owned by the carrier.

() Refund of the motor fuel tax will be allowed only on that fuel used
in the dispatch of the carrier’s official business.

1.-2. (No change.)
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(g) (No change.)
18:18-15.10 (Reserved)

18:18-15.11 Separate invoices where refund claimed

When fuel is sold to any person who claims to be entitled to a refund
of the tax imposed, the seller of such fuel must furnish the purchaser
with an invoice, or invoices, in conformity with the requirements
pertaining to invoices set forth under N.J.S.A. 54:39-114.

OTHER AGENCIES
(a)

ELECTION LAW ENFORCEMENT COMMISSION

Regulations of the Election Law Enforcement
Commission

Readoption: N.J.A.C. 19:25

Proposed: May 1, 2017 at 49 N.J.R. 1014(a).

Adopted: July 18, 2017, by the Election Law Enforcement
Commission, Jeffrey M. Brindle, Executive Director.

Filed: July 19, 2017, as R.2017 d.153, without change.

Authority: N.J.S.A. 19:27A-17, 19:44A-6, 19:44A-38, 19:44B-7,
and 52:13C-23.2.

Effective Date: July 19, 2017.

Expiration Date: July 19, 2024.

Summary of Public Comment and Agency Response:

The period for receipt of written comments regarding the notice
of proposal for readoption of Commission rules expired on June 30,
2017, and no written comments were received. The sitting
Commission voted on July 18, 2017, to adopt the notice of proposal
without change. The record of opportunity for the public to be heard
may be reviewed by contacting Michelle R. Levy, Esq., Assistant Legal
Counsel, Election Law Enforcement Commission, PO Box 185, Trenton,
New Jersey 08625-0185.

Federal Standards Statement
A Federal standards analysis is not required because the readopted
rules concern New Jersey filing entities. The rules are not subject to any
Federal requirements or standards.

Full text of the readopted rules can be found in the New Jersey
Administrative Code at N.J.A.C. 19:25.
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